Assault Lawyers in Mesa
Dedicated Defense Serving the State of Arizona
If you have been accused of criminal assault, you are probably worried about your freedom and your future. Assault convictions can bring serious consequences, including jail time, fines, and a criminal record, which may make it difficult to secure future employment or housing.
McPhie Law is here for you. We can help you understand your legal options and aggressively advocate on your behalf. Enlisting the services of our Mesa assault attorneys can help protect your freedom and give you peace of mind. Our goal is to protect your rights and help maintain your quality of life.
The Consequences of Assault in Mesa
Criminal assault involves unwanted physical contact from another person, usually in an effort to cause harm. However, a mere threat of violence against another person can also constitute criminal assault, even if that violence never actually occurs.
The consequences you could face for a conviction will depend on what offense you were charged with. Arizona law creates two major categories of assaults: simple assault and aggravated assault.
Simple assaults are misdemeanor offenses, and are categorized into the following classes:
- Class 3 misdemeanor assault –this offense carries up to 30 days in jail, more than $500 in fines and fees, as well as up to a year’s worth of probation
- Class 2 misdemeanor assault – the maximum jail sentence is raised to four months, the fine is increased to more than $750, and you may receive probation for up to two years
- Class 1 misdemeanor assault – a conviction for this offense can result in six months behind bars, a $2,500 fine, and probation for up to three years
If the assault meets certain criteria, it can be charged as a felony aggravated assault offense. Depending on the circumstances of the case, this crime is often also charged as a dangerous offense and can yield even harsher penalties.
Some of the factors that can lead to an aggravated assault charge include:
- Committing an assault after entering someone’s home
- Restraining the victim during the assault
- Assaulting a firefighter, teacher, police officer, health care worker, prison guard, or prosecutor
- Using or threatening the use of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument
- Assaulting someone 15 years old or younger when you are an adult
- Causing serious physical injury or substantial disfigurement to the victim
The consequences for an aggravated assault conviction are far greater than the misdemeanor charges. Based on the details of your case and your criminal history, you could face anywhere from five to 15 years behind bars. If the assault is charged as a dangerous offense, you will not be eligible for probation.
Rely on Our Lawyers to Defend You against Your Charges
At McPhie Law, our Mesa assault attorneys focus on providing quality criminal defense representation to all of our clients. We provide compassionate advice and diligent service throughout the legal process, whether that involves settling accusations outside of court or litigating your case at trial. In many cases, we have successfully kept criminal assault charges off of our clients’ criminal records.
We have found solutions and achieved settlements that have kept our clients out of jail, allowing them to continue on with their lives. Our team knows how important your freedom is to you, and how worrying criminal accusations can be. We are willing to fight to protect your rights.
For reliable legal counsel, call (480) 771-7977 now.