Mesa Assault Attorney

Dedicated Defense Throughout The East Valley

In Arizona, the term “assault” can refer to a wide range of
offenses. Merely threatening someone is considered assault under Arizona
law, so it’s easy to see why many people are charged with this offense
without realizing they’ve even committed a crime.

At McPhie Law, our experienced Mesa criminal defense attorney has represented
accused individuals for more than a decade. Attorney Ryan McPhie is a
former prosecutor, giving him an in-depth knowledge of the inner-workings
of all criminal courtrooms in the Greater Phoenix area.

Do not take chances with your defense – call (480) 568-2778 today
to learn more.

A Wide Range of Potential Penalties

The consequences you’ll face for a conviction will depend on what
offense you were charged with. Arizona law creates two major categories
of assaults, Simple Assault and Aggravated Assault.

Simple Assaults

Simple assaults are misdemeanor offenses, and are categorized into the
following classes:

  • Class 3 Misdemeanor Assault – this offense carries up to 30 days in jail, more than $500 in fines and
    fees, as well as up to a year’s worth of probation. Class 3 assault
    typically occurs when one person touches another with the intent to either
    injure or provoke them.
  • Class 2 Misdemeanor Assault – this offense is typically charged when a person threatens to injure another.
    The maximum jail sentence is raised to 4 months, the fine is raised to
    more than $750, and you may receive probation for up to 2 years.
  • Class 3 Misdemeanor Assault – if the assault includes any actual physical injury, but does not
    meet the criteria for aggravated assault, it will generally be charged
    as a Class 3 misdemeanor. A conviction for this offense can result in
    6 months behind bars, a $2500 fine, and probation for up to 3 years.

To learn more about your case, and the options available to you,schedule a free consultation today.

Aggravated Assault

If the assault meets certain criteria, it can be charged as a felony aggravated
assault offense. Depending on the circumstances of the case, this crime
is often also charged as a Dangerous Offense, which can yield even harsher
penalties.

Some of the factors that can lead to an aggravated assault charge include:

  • Committing an assault after entering someone’s home
  • Restraining the victim during the assault
  • Assaulting a firefighter, teacher, police officer, health care worker,
    prison guard, or prosecutor
  • Using or threatening the use of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument
  • Assaulting someone 15 years old or younger when you are an adult
  • Causing serious physical injury or substantial disfigurement to the victim

The consequences for an aggravated assault conviction are far greater than
the misdemeanor charges. Based on the details of your case and your criminal
history, you could face anywhere from 5 to 15 years behind bars. If the
assault is charged as a Dangerous Offense, you will not be eligible for
probation.

Fight to protect your future –
contact McPhie Law today.

YOU HAVE A WAY OF LIFE WORTH SAVING.
GET STARTED ON YOUR DEFENSE STRATEGY WITH A FREE CONSULTATION